I can live here forever??

From Shakespeare to Thomas Hardy and right up to Shirley Jackson, I have an abiding love of old timey literature. (And yes, I do have to use words like “abiding” in this circumstance. I can be pretentious if I want, DON’T JUDGE ME!!!)

The language and imagery has such a powerful, spine tingling, sense of magic! And, although these works often take a little longer to get through than their modern day counterparts (and don’t get me wrong, I love those too), they always seem so much easier to burrow into and leave a much more lasting impression. The fog of a beautiful book often lingers in my mind long after I’ve finished the final page, much like a dream that you’re positive actually happened. I could live in those worlds with those characters forever… except I’m actively trying not to become the creepy recluse I’m destined to be, so unfortunately I do have to live in the real world too.

Thank-you please!
Thank-you please!

Anyway, I do have a point, I promise!

So the two loons I live with and I just moved into a new flat and my room needs decorating. I think it would be cool to hang up some quotes from some of my favourite books; but which quotes?? There are so many!!! And often the best ones are so overused they just become a cringy tumblr cliché.

The more I’ve been looking into it the more I’m becoming drawn to the final lines, the sentences that wrap it all up and, if done right, haunt you for the rest of the day/week/month. Here are a few of my favourites:

 Wuthering Heights

-I lingered round them, under that benign sky: watched the moths fluttering among the heath and harebells, listened to the soft wind breathing through the grass, and wondered how anyone could ever imagine unquiet slumbers for the sleepers in that quiet earth.

Dracula

– Later on he will understand how some men so loved her, that they did dare much for her sake.

The Turn of the Screw

– We were alone with the quiet day, and his little heart, dispossessed, had stopped.

Now I just need to find some old timey illustrations to go with them. Easy right?…

Leave a Reply

