I Must Be a Lady in Waiting

I knew it as soon as I woke up this morning. No, scrap that. I knew it as soon as I began to swallow and my body reacted like it  was on red alert and it was time to jump ship. Sick… Again. Great.

Lumbering about the empty apartment I tried to decide what to do with my day. Fold the washing? Clean the dishes? Tidy my room? Lesson plan for the following day? The productive options seemed endless. I could even finish my pirate book, or do some crafts to sell on Etsy…

Instead I decided to make a skirt.
I had the material from that one day I decided to make a skirt and didn’t. Now would be that day! Who cares if it was the one weekend my flatmate had left with the sewing machine to make sock monkeys, I was gonna be kicking it old school!

Scouring the internet for patterns I could make with 1meter of fabric, no zip and no elastic, it soon became evident that I would be on my own. So I turned on The Tudors, pretended I was a seamstress in the court of England, and got to work:

Wool's good for measuring right? It doesn't stretch?
Wool’s good for measuring right? It doesn’t stretch?
Oops, inches not centimetres!
Oops, inches not centimetres!
Ahh, the old snips
Ahh, the old snips
Did stitch it to my tights at one point...
I did hem it to my tights at one point…
Get amongst it waistband!
Get amongst it waistband!
Cute as a button
Cute as a button

And this is the end result! (yes, it took me all day and no, I didn’t have lunch until 5:30. It’s not like I had anything more important to do!)

Tada!
Tada!
Leave a Reply

