2016 Travel Reading Challenge

Three posts in three days?? It must be exam season!

Like being trapped in our own countries, when it comes to book selection we often get trapped in our own cultures. I know this is particularly true for me: my book collection is strong in English and American classics… and not much else. It’s time, here in 2016, to make a change.

Much like my approach to travel, I am preparing to plunge myself into new worlds without really knowing what to expect. Here is my mission: each month I will read a different book from a different country until, by the end of 2016, I will have read my way through twelve countries and twelve different voices.

My current list is as follows, though amendments and suggestions are welcome!

Jan. Journey by Midnight, Anatal Szerb –Hungary

Feb. Kafka on the Shore, Haruki Murakami –Japan

March. The Bastard of Istanbul, Elif Shafak –Turkey

April. The House of the Spirits, Isabel Allende –Chile

May. Soul Mountain, Gao Xingjian –China

June. So Long a Letter, Mariama Bâ –Senegal

July. One Hundred Years of Solitude, Gabriel García Márquez –Columbia

Aug. The Mandarins, Simone De Beauvoir –France

Sep. Amerika, Franz Kafka –Germany

Oct. The God of Small Things, Arundhati Roy –India

Nov. Things Fall Apart, Chinua Achebe –Nigeria

Dec. Dumb Luck, Vũ Trọng Phụng –Vietnam

Although I had never heard of many of these titles before researching this list, I’m hoping that these varied genres, nationalities and eras will keep the year interesting and open me up to new perspectives, cultures and understandings.

So this year I’ll be travelling from my bedroom… at least until this bad boy fills up!

Travel jar.JPG

Leave a Reply

