Travel, TBR, and Scary Adult Life Stuff

May has been a bit of a transition month.

I finished the last of my exams; ending my French uni experience. I started a new English teaching job that is soooo much more flexible than anything else I’ve had (and better paid). And it was my birthday, party times! –And also one year closer to my quarter life crisis.

All in all not too shabby. So here’s a wrap up on the month of May and what I’m aiming to achieve over the next year (because lists are fun and if I write out my wishes they might just come true!).

Nestled amongst my final exams (Literature yay! French argumentative writing boo!) I managed to read four YA books, because what else would you read at the height of procrastination? They were The School For Good and Evil (Soman Chainani), Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Ransom Riggs), Shadow and Bone From the Grisha Trilogy (Leigh Bardugo), and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before (Jenny Han). As the reviews will soon show, it was a mixed bag.

In this time I also popped over to England for family catch-ups and live venue moshings. Apart from that, this month wasn’t the most travel filled. Although we did head up north a bit for a weekend away in the countryside.

And then it was my birthday, one of the last hurrahs before all my uni buds fly off to their respective countries. And also a chance to get more books… How am I going to move with all these books!!?? — But also yay books!

Plans and Reachable Dreams For The Year Ahead
(because all our dreams are reachable)

Travel:
-Italy
One of my bestest pals is moving to Italy soon, so a weekend in Florence is on the cards for the near future (I hope!).

-London
The end of August is also the end of my French visa. Hello scary moving to England times!

-Canada
Before finding a job in England my sister and I are hoping to pop over to Canada for a Montreal-Ottawa-Toronto little adventure. Any suggestions greatly appreciated!

-Germany
Because I haven’t got there yet and one third of our little uni gang lives there.

*Disclaimer: I am currently at a negative number in my bank account, but where there’s a will there’s a way!

TBR:
As of this moment I have 36 books on my Book Depository wishlist. Eeep! The most pressing include

Six of Crows (Leigh Bardugo)

All the Light We Cannot See (Anthony Doerr)

The Raven King (Maggie Stiefvater)

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender (Leslye Walton)

In Order to Live (Yeonmi Park)

Professional:

-Get a job in publishing (preferably for children/YA) in London

-If that doesn’t work, go back to making trailers for tv shows/movies (at the BBC??)

-Don’t end up living with my parents for an extended amount of time!!!

Personal:

-Make friends in a new land!!

-Continue improving my French (I need allll the motivations for this one)

-Get my writing back on track (two 75% finished first drafts is not how we achieve anything)

-Finally book my literary tattoo from the tattooing godess who is Susanne König

 

Bring it! *flexes muscles which are obviously super huge*
-Also, does anyone reading this live in London? Or just England in general?? I’m not so much looking forward to becoming the most lonely loser to ever move to a new country…

9 thoughts on “Travel, TBR, and Scary Adult Life Stuff”

  1. *waves* I live in London! You sound quite sad about returning? Let’s hope you enjoy your time back and get that publishing job :)

    In order to Live is a great book, by the way! I recommend reading it as soon as possible.

    1. Yay!!! I would say more scared than sad, I’ve never lived in England before so I don’t know anyone (apart from my parents who recently moved there) and have no idea how everything works! I’m sure it will be great once I get there but the anticipation is slightly terrifying ><

      1. Ahh, I see! No worries, you’ll soon be enjoying your time here and wondering why you ever worried :) there are loads of places to visit too!

        1. Ugh, it’s the worst! Are you moving pretty soon? I had to leave a bunch of books behind when I first started traveling, and I still miss them every day :,( haha

        2. Yeah, I move in 2 days, actually. I had to make sure to sort all my books based on the ones I don’t need to unpack and the ones I do (moving back with my parents from an apartment, so there won’t be room to unpack everything.) Hopefully I won’t be there too long, haha.

Leave a Reply

