Toulouse: Street Art

My time in Toulouse is coming to a close. In six weeks I’ll be wedging books into every available space of luggage and flying to England to start my new adventure. But after two years in my adopted home town, I’m realizing that this blog hasn’t shown La Ville Rose a huge amount of love. So it is now my mission to amend such an oversight and give you all a glimpse of my favourite city in France.

We’ll start this mini series of posts with something fairly recent. Over the last few months a number of murals having been cropping up around town. I imagine that the word “mural” comes from the French word “mur”meaning “wall”. But upon asking a real living French person how they say “mural” in French, he said a word like that doesn’t exist. We just have to say graffiti or street art. Huh.

Anywho, I grabbed a few snaps yesterday before the blazing sun sent me scuttling home to watch trashy tv in a bikini. Behold the “Street art” of Toulouse:

IMG_3269.JPG

This one has to be one of my favourites. It’s on Avenue Sainte-Exupéry and the plane is a nod to the author of Le Petit Prince, who was one of the first pilots in the air postal services here in Toulouse. He disappeared during WWII while out flying a reconnaissance mission over the Mediterranean.

IMG_3279

Just up the road a bit is this one. I’m not sure what it’s meant to be of… but it looks rather war-time doesn’t it?

IMG_3272.JPG

Here’s another with an aéropostale plane. Although I’m not too sure how a robot filled with noodles fits into the theme…

IMG_3284.JPG

This one’s located beside the Sainte Anne metro stop. It was incredibly hard to get a photo of, so please forgive the quality! It’s behind a huge iron fence and I had to reach up and perch my camera over the top to get this shot.

IMG_3280.JPG

Here’s the side of an apartment block behind a round-about that no self respecting French driver would ever actually drive around.

IMG_3289.JPG

Some cute little monster/wolf things hypnotizing us into eating more sausages.

IMG_3291.JPG

And of course no collection would be complete without Toulouse’s famous paintings hidden amongst the arches that border the main square. These paintings depict the somewhat bloody history of Toulouse, and the one you can see here is the story of Saint Sernin. He was killed by the Cathars back in the day by being dragged through the streets behind a bull. Rue du Taur (street of the bull) is where it all took place, and is now the site of many tasty crêpe restaurants.

I hope to do a few more posts that take place around specific aspects of Toulouse. Let me know if there’s anything in the city you’d be interested in discovering more about.

13595781_10207281888748998_1181512613_n

 

Naww, my sister came to see some of them while she was here. Aren’t we so sweet? :P

Leave a Reply

