Reading Wrap-up + Haul | August

Just because I’ve been in the middle of moving my entire life from France to England, that doesn’t mean I haven’t been reading!

As I haven’t had time to write reviews for these books I thought I’d give a brief wrap-up and possibly come back later and review a few of them. Also, I managed to pick up a few new books along my adventures, but more to come on that soon!

So here’s what I’ve been reading in August:

Red Queen
Red Queen
I really liked this one! At first I wasn’t sure, it just felt like a million other YA I’d been reading lately. You know, girl from the bottom of society stumbling into a world of intruige and danger blablabla love blabla. But the use of magic kept me hooked, and I’m always a sucker for secret societies.

 

The Heir
The Heir
Last month I binge-read the Selection series. And although I didn’t love them, I did find them quite addictive… if rather frustrating!! So I decided to give this “sequel” series a go. So far I’m not convinced, I found America a much more interesting heroine but we’ll see, maybe The Crown will hook me more…

 

New Image
ACOTAR/ACOMAF
Oh ACOTAR ACOTAR ACOTAR. I started A Court of Thorns and Roses last year and just kinda gave up. I found it slow and so fan-fic-y. Do you know what I mean? But with the hype around A Court of Mist and Fury I thought I’d give it another go. One thing you’ve got to give Sarah J Maas credit for is her plot twists and infuriatingly cliff-hangy endings. The end of ACOMAF made me so mad because now I have to read the third!!!

Assassin's
The Assassin’s Blade
Speaking of Maas, Empire of Storms is coming out soon….Eeep! (Yes, I’ve already ordered my signed copy). So what better way to prepare than by reading The Assassin’s Blade, the series of prequel short stories that recount Celaena’s lead up to captivity in the labour camp. I really enjoyed them, but Sam Cortland… I just kept hoping the ending wouldn’t be what I knew it would be.

 
Me Before You
Me Before You
The one “grown up” novel I read this month was this tear-jerker. Yes, it was rather predictable and cliché, but I found the characters incredibly empathetic and yes… I did cry. Not a favourite, but a good read none the less. Especially when I was so caught up with YA fantasy, it was nice to read something a little more grounded.

 

I also picked up this beautiful edition of Anne of Green Gables. I read most of it on the train from Toulouse to London and am just finishing it up now. As a child I was a huge fan of the film so reading this is bringing back all the feels. I love it! Also I must now buy all the other books in this collection, they’re just too stunning!

IMG_3584

Lastly, I went for an interview at Hachette UK today as I continue my hunt for a job in publishing. I feel it went well, but even if I don’t get the job, I walked away with this pretty sweet haul. It includes the illustrated edition of Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere, Get Even by Martina Cole, Cartes Postales from Greece by Victoria Hislop, and an advance copy of Hannah Tinti’s The Twelve Bullets of Samuel Hawley. Plus a “Rooftop Book Club” tote. Yay!

IMG_3590.JPG

What did you read in August?

6 thoughts on “Reading Wrap-up + Haul | August”

Leave a Reply

